CAMUS Albert (1913-1960)

Lot 25
Aller au lot
Estimation :
6000 - 8000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 15 600EUR

CAMUS Albert (1913-1960)


Study on The Plague after Thucydides and Lucretia, autograph manuscript [Mid 1940s]. 4 pages ½ in-4 in brown ink on paper.
An important autograph manuscript by Albert Camus with numerous autograph corrections and additions in which he discusses Thucydides and Lucretia, Greek and Roman observers of the effects of the plague. This version of the text has apparently never been published.
Was it written before the writing of The Plague, first published in 1947? In the edition of the author's Complete Works published by La Pléiade, another version of this text was published under the title: "Stephan's Commentary on Thucydides and Lucretia. Fragment of Chapter V of Part III". The manuscript of this version is held by the BNF.
The manuscript presented here contains some corrections which are not published in the edition of La Pléiade. Camus says: "Thucy specifies and Luc teaches. Thucy writes that men would die like beasts. Luc adds that their black throats distilled a blood sweat, that the rare, small, saffron-coloured and dirty sputum was torn from the throat with difficulty by a raucous cough, and that finally an uninterrupted hiccup killed the patient and brought him to exhaustion [...]".
Camus expresses his total empathy with the suffering and horror caused by the plague. He mocks Lucrezia's prayers to God: "[...] It is up to us to add prayer, God of the sheep, I adore you in hiccups and spittle... God of the sheep, here is the salt of my blood sweat. And the God of the sheep approves and grumbles, chews his cud and delights. I send death to them in flocks, accompanied by a foul odor, so that no one will think to touch these reserved victims. And as Luke says, the birds and wild beasts then depart from this prey".
Camus sides instead with Thucydides, the objective historian who notes that scientists can do nothing to stop the epidemic. Camus shares his despair and yet his quest for a cure.
This remarkable text sheds a very interesting
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

CAMUS Albert (1913-1960)

Lot 25
Aller au lot
Estimation :
6000 - 8000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 15 600EUR

CAMUS Albert (1913-1960)


Étude sur La Peste d'après Thucydide et Lucrèce, manuscrit autographe [Milieu des années 1940]. 4 pages ½ in-4 à l'encre brune sur papier.
Important manuscrit autographe d'Albert Camus comportant de nombreuses corrections autographes et ajouts dans lequel il disserte sur Thucydide et Lucrèce, observateurs grecs et romains des effets de la peste. Cette version du texte n'a apparemment jamais été publiée.
A-t-elle été menée avant la rédaction de La Peste, publiée pour la première fois en 1947 ? Dans l'édition des OEuvres complètes de l'auteur aux éditions de La Pléiade, une autre version de ce texte fut publiée sous le titre : «Commentaire de Stephan sur Thucydide et Lucrèce. Fragment du chapitre V de la 3ème partie». Le manuscrit de cette version est détenu par la BNF.
Le manuscrit présenté ici contient quelques corrections qui ne sont pas publiées dans l'édition de la Pléiade. Camus indique : «Thucy précise et Luc enseigne. Thucy écrit que les hommes mourraient comme des bêtes. Luc ajoute que leur gorge toute noire distille une sueur de sang, que les crachats rares, menus, couleur de safran et sales sont arrachés avec peine du gosier par une toux rauque et qu'enfin un hoquet ininterrompu tue le patient et met le comble à son épuisement [...)».
Camus fait part de sa totale empathie face à la souffrance et l'horreur provoquées par la peste. Il se moque des prières de Lucrèce à Dieu : «[...] A nous d'ajouter la prière, Dieu des brebis, je t'adore dans les hoquets et les crachats... Dieu des brebis, voici le sel de ma sueur de sang. Et le Dieu des brebis approuve et gronde, rumine et se délecte. Je leur envoie la mort en troupeau, accompagnée d'une odeur infecte pour que personne ne songe à toucher ces victimes réservées. Et comme dit Luc, les oiseaux et les bêtes sauvages s'écartent alors de cette proie».
Camus se range plutôt du côté de Thucydide, l'historien objectif qui note que les scientifiques ne peuvent rien pour arrêter l'épidémie. Camu
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue