ANTHEIL George (1900-1959)

Lot 1231
Go to lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 2 600EUR
ANTHEIL George (1900-1959)
11 L.A.S. and 10 L.S. "George Antheil" or "George", [1924-1930 and n.d.], to Jacques BENOIST-MÉCHIN; 25 pages in various formats, a few addresses and envelopes (two on the back of illustrated postcards); in English. Nice correspondence from the American composer in his early Parisian years.

[Jacques BENOIST-MÉCHIN (1901-1983), the future politician and historian, was then known as a brilliant journalist and talented composer. He will link up with George Antheil, who then lived at 12 rue de l'Odéon, above Sylvia Beach's Shakespeare and Company bookstore].

Paris [March 21, 1924]. All his life he had been looking for a sincere friend, and the letter from Benoist Méchin gave him his first happiness in years. When he first heard him speak he hoped to have him as a friend. The music of the future lies exclusively in these almost unspoken, or inadequately expressed idea-forms, and it is in the future music to be written yet that we will have comradeship ("The music of the future lies in these almost unspoken, or inadequately expressed idea-forms but it is most certainly there and only there, and it is in the future music to be written yet that we will have comradeship"). Antheil is secretly unhappy with his current music... [July 1924, at the back of the program of the American music concert organized by Ezra POUND]: because of the stupidity of the musicians and the "music lovers", the creative artists of all times had to make hogswash, like him also with the "Mechanism"... [November 12, 1925]. Insomniac, he consoled himself with the thought that the chorale of "Jack" is a work of genius... [December 1925]. Invitation to Christmas Eve dinner with him and Böski at Bill and Louise BULLITT's house; he is busy putting together a string quartet; the Bullitts are important... [1925?]. He finishes his Ballet mécanique and does not know if it will be with Fernand LÉGER or not... Ideas on the musician of the future, who, like Picasso or James Joyce, w
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

ANTHEIL George (1900-1959)

Lot 1231
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 2 600EUR
ANTHEIL George (1900-1959)
11 L.A.S. et 10 L.S. « George Antheil » ou « George », [1924-1930 et s.d.], à Jacques BENOIST-MÉCHIN ; 25 pages formats divers, quelques adresses et enveloppes (deux au dos de cartes postales illustrées) ; en anglais. Belle correspondance du compositeur américain à ses débuts, lors de ses années parisiennes.

[Jacques BENOIST-MÉCHIN (1901-1983), le futur homme politique et historien, est alors connu comme brillant journaliste et compositeur talentueux. Il va se lier avec George Antheil, qui demeure alors 12 rue de l’Odéon, au-dessus de la librairie Shakespeare and Company de Sylvia Beach.]

Paris [21 mars 1924]. Toute sa vie, il a cherché un ami sincère, et la lettre de Benoist Méchin lui donne le premier bonheur depuis des années. Quand il l’a entendu parler pour la première fois il espérait l’avoir comme ami. La musique de l’avenir réside exclusivement dans ces formes d’idée tacites ou insuffisamment exprimées, et c’est dans la musique non encore écrite de l’avenir qu’ils auront de la camaraderie (« The music of the future lies in these almost unspoken, or inadequately expressed idea-forms but it is most certainly there and only there, and it is in the future music to be written yet that we will have comradeship »). Antheil est secrètement malheureux de sa musique actuelle… [Juillet 1924, au dos du programme du concert de musique américaine organisé par Ezra POUND] : à cause de la stupidité des musiciens et des « music lovers », les artistes créateurs de toutes les époques ont dû faire des foutaises (« hogswash »), comme lui aussi avec le « Mechanism »… [12 novembre 1925]. Insomniaque, il s’est consolé à la pensée que le choral de « Jack » est une œuvre de génie… [Décembre 1925 ?]. Invitation à dîner le soir de Noël avec Böski et lui, chez Bill et Louise BULLITT ; il s’occupe à réunir un quatuor à cordes ; les Bullitt sont importants… [1925 ?]. Il termine son Ballet mécanique et ne sait si ce sera avec Fernand LÉGER, ou non… Idées sur le musici
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue