BERLIOZ Hector (1803-1869)

Lot 1253
Got to lot
Estimation :
1500 - 2000 EUR
BERLIOZ Hector (1803-1869)
L.A.S. " Hector Berlioz ", Paris Dimanche 20 [22 October 1865, to Mrs Amélie ERNST] ; 4 pages in-8 (slots repaired).

Letters of condolence after the death of his friend the violinist Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst (1814-1865), who died in Nice on October 8.

He was ill and did not have the strength to answer his sad letter. "Even today I find it difficult to draw these few lines. Heller had told me the sad news and you think what part we have taken in your pain. I loved Ernst, as you know, and had loved him before you met him. I have left proof of this in a volume of Memoirs which I have just had printed and which contains a letter to him and an appreciation of his talent. This book is not published and will not be on sale until after my death; but we will see what I thought of Ernst twenty years ago.

This will be my stone for his monument. For the other monument you are telling me about, I cannot in any way help to erect it. A rich man like Mr. Figdor, for example, by subscribing himself, could. But partial subscriptions never work in Paris. ... For me, who has neither health nor money, I can do nothing ...".

He asked Joseph d'Ortigue to mention Ernst in his soap opera. "We have also just lost one of our friends, poor Wallace [pianist William WALLACE], and his widow is in the same position as you. Ah, the sky is black, I feel myself sinking in grief. Excuse me, dear lady, I must take my laudanum and try to fall asleep. I can't take it anymore. I spend three-quarters and a half of my life lying down.

Death is a very capricious coquette! "...

Correspondence, t. VII, n° 3056.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

BERLIOZ Hector (1803-1869)

Lot 1253
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1500 - 2000 EUR
BERLIOZ Hector (1803-1869)
L.A.S. « Hector Berlioz », Paris Dimanche 20 [22 octobre 1865, à Mme Amélie ERNST] ; 4 pages in-8 (fentes réparées). 

Lettres de condoléances après la mort de son ami le violoniste Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst (1814-1865), décédé à Nice le 8 octobre.

Il était malade et n’a pas eu la force de répondre à sa triste lettre. « Aujourd’hui encore j’ai bien de la peine à tracer ces quelques lignes. Heller m’avait fait savoir la funeste nouvelle et vous pensez quelle part nous avons prise à votre douleur. J’aimais Ernst, vous le savez, et je l’avais aimé avant que vous le connaissiez. J’en ai laissé la preuve dans un volume de Mémoires que je viens de faire imprimer et où se trouvent une lettre à lui adressée et une appréciation de son talent. Ce livre n’est pas publié et ne sera mis en vente qu’après ma mort ; mais on verra ce que je pensais d’Ernst il y a vingt ans.

Ce sera là ma pierre pour son monument. Pour l’autre monument dont vous me parlez, je ne puis en aucune façon aider à l’ériger. Un homme riche comme M. Figdor, par exemple, en souscrivant lui-même le pourrait. Mais les souscriptions partielles ne réussissent jamais à Paris. […] Pour moi, qui n’ai ni santé ni argent, je ne puis rien »...

Il a prié Joseph d’Ortigue de parler d’Ernst dans son feuilleton. « Nous venons de perdre aussi un artiste de nos amis, le pauvre Wallace [le pianiste William WALLACE], et sa veuve est dans la même position que vous. Ah ! le ciel est bien noir ! je me sens sombrer dans le chagrin. […] Pardon, chère Madame, il faut que je prenne mon laudanum et que je tâche de m’endormir. Je n’en puis plus. Je passe les trois quarts et demi de ma vie couché.

La mort est une coquette bien capricieuse ! »…

Correspondance, t. VII, n° 3056.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue