COYPEL Charles-Antoine (1694-1752)

Lot 1275
Go to lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1500 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 1 170EUR
COYPEL Charles-Antoine (1694-1752)
MANUSCRIPT with autograph corrections, Le Talent; 133 pages in-4 in 6 notebooks bound with a blue ribbon, gold edges (lightly wetted).

Complete manuscript of this unpublished piece. The painter and engraver Charles-Antoine Coypel was also a playwright and director of the Royal Academy of Music; only one of his forty or so plays was published, Les Folies de Cardenio.

The Duc de La Vallière owned a manuscript of Charles Coypel's Theatre, in 6 volumes in-4, containing 21 plays (no. 3463), including Le Talent: "All these plays by Charles Coypel, from a family that was fertile in painters, who died in 1752, have not been printed. He was very jealous not to make them public, & it was by a proof of the greatest confidence that the Duke de la Vallière had a copy of all those he confessed. "

Complete manuscript of this "heroï-comic allegory in three acts", in prose, with a few autograph corrections. It is dedicated to Louis FAGON, Intendant of Finances (1714), Ordinary Councillor of State, and member of the Royal Council since 1722: "I cannot prove better how necessary it is for Talent to be under the protection of the Good Spirit, than by presenting it to you"...

The play features a dozen allegorical characters in the Palais de la Fortune, in its gardens, or in "le sejour de la Modération": The Good Spirit, protector of Talent, Talent, Criticism, Ambition, Envy, Flattery, Daze, Fortune, Adversity, Moderation, Avarice and Abundance. Despite the efforts of Ambition, Envy and Flattery to lose it, Talent triumphs, supported by the Good Spirit...
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

COYPEL Charles-Antoine (1694-1752)

Lot 1275
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1500 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 1 170EUR
COYPEL Charles-Antoine (1694-1752)
MANUSCRIT avec corrections autographes, Le Talent ; 133 pages in-4 en 6 cahiers liés d’un ruban bleu, tranches dorées (légères mouillures).

Manuscrit complet de cette pièce inédite . Le peintre et graveur Charles-Antoine Coypel était aussi auteur dramatique, et fut directeur de l’Académie royale de musique ; une seule de la quarantaine de ses pièces fut publiée, Les Folies de Cardenio.

Le duc de La Vallière possédait un manuscrit du Théâtre de Charles Coypel, en 6 volumes in-4, rassemblant 21 pièces (n° 3463), dont Le Talent : « Toutes ces pièces de Charles Coypel, d’une famille fertile en Peintres, mort en 1752, n’ont pas été imprimées. Il étoit fort jaloux de ne pas les rendre publiques, & c’est par une preuve de la plus grande confiance que M le Duc de la Vallière a eu une copie de toutes celles qu’il avouoit. »

Manuscrit complet mis au net, avec quelques corrections autographes, de cette « allégorie, heroï-comique en trois actes », et en prose. Elle est dédiée à Louis FAGON, intendant des Finances (1714), conseiller d’État ordinaire, et membre du Conseil royal depuis 1722 : « Je ne puis mieux prouver combien il est nécessaire que le Talent soit sous la protection du bon Esprit, qu’en vous le présentant »…

La pièce met en scène, au Palais de la Fortune, dans ses jardins, ou dans « le sejour de la Modération », une douzaine de personnages allégoriques : Le Bon Esprit, protecteur du Talent, Le Talent, La Critique, L’Ambition, L’Envie, La Flatterie, L’Étourderie, La Fortune, L’Adversité, La Modération, L’Avarice et L’Abondance. Malgré les efforts de L’Ambition, L’Envie et la Flatterie pour le perdre, Le Talent triomphe, soutenu par Le Bon Esprit…
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue