MAN RAY (RADNITSKY EMMANUEL, DIT) (1890-1976)

Lot 302
Aller au lot
Estimation :
10000 - 15000 EUR

MAN RAY (RADNITSKY EMMANUEL, DIT) (1890-1976)

1944, autograph manuscript signed
Hollywood, 1944, in English, 70 foliated pages in-8 in ink. Bradel full black canvas, original label on the back dated and signed by Man Ray.
Autograph manuscript in English signed in 64 pages all foliated in ink by Man Ray in a tight handwriting with autograph erasures and corrections by his hand. The first seven of the thirteen pages of the manuscript preface signed by Man Ray are missing.
An original pencil drawing by Man Ray appears on the last page and depicts an automobile carrying a cannon. On the back of the page are some of Man Ray's autograph pencil notes relating to Huxley and the Marquis de Sade. The label on the spine of the binding is an original Indian ink drawing by Man Ray, titled 1944, with his name calligraphed in his own hand.
1944 is a novel, but it is mostly the idea of a novel that was never finished. It touches on some of the important points in Man Ray's poetics. It is a well-defined project, exposing his ideas, a linguistic project, in a utopian structure, a city of the future, a city of sunshine perpetually bathed in light and colour.
PROVENANCE Collection Professor Janus. Man Ray offered this manuscript to Professor Janus, critic, great specialist and organizer of Man Ray exhibitions in Italy. He was one of the most important critics of Man Ray, his biographer and friend during the last fifteen years of his life. Janus curated several exhibitions of Man Ray from 1969 to the present day.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

MAN RAY (RADNITSKY EMMANUEL, DIT) (1890-1976)

Lot 302
Aller au lot
Estimation :
10000 - 15000 EUR

MAN RAY (RADNITSKY EMMANUEL, DIT) (1890-1976)

1944, manuscrit autographe signé
Hollywood, 1944, en anglais, 70 pages foliotées in-8 à l'encre. Bradel pleine toile noire, étiquette originale au dos datée et signée par Man Ray.
Manuscrit autographe en anglais signé de 64 pages à l'encre toutes foliotées par Man Ray d'une écriture serrée comportant des ratures et corrections autographes de sa main. Les sept premières pages sur les treize de la préface manuscrite et signée par Man Ray, manquent.
Un dessin original de Man Ray au crayon figure sur le dernier feuillet et représente une automobile portant un canon. Au verso du feuillet, quelques notes autographes au crayon de Man Ray relatives à Huxley et au Marquis de Sade. L'étiquette au dos de la reliure est un dessin original à l'encre de chine de Man Ray, titré 1944, portant son nom calligraphié de sa main.
1944 est un roman, mais c'est surtout l'idée d'un roman qui n'a jamais été terminé. Il touche à certains des points importants dans la poétique de Man Ray. Il s'agit d'un projet bien défini, exposant ses idées, projet linguistique, dans une structure utopique, une ville du futur, ville de soleil perpétuellement baignée de lumière et de couleurs.
PROVENANCE Collection Professeur Janus. Man Ray a offert ce manuscrit au Professeur Janus, critique, grand spécialiste et organisateur d'expositions de Man Ray en Italie. Il fut l'un des critiques les plus importants de Man Ray son biographe et son ami pendant les quinze dernières années de sa vie. Janus fut le commissaire de plusieurs expositions de Man Ray à partir de 1969 jusqu'à aujourd'hui.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue