RUBINSTEIN Anton (1829-1894). MANUSCRIT MUSICAL... - Lot 1194 - Ader

Lot 1194
Got to lot
Estimation :
10000 - 12000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 11 700EUR
RUBINSTEIN Anton (1829-1894). MANUSCRIT MUSICAL... - Lot 1194 - Ader
RUBINSTEIN Anton (1829-1894).
MANUSCRIT MUSICAL autograph signed "Ant. Rubinstein", 2nd Concerto for piano and orchestra op. 35 (1851) ; [1]-119
pages in folio, bound on black cloth spine.

Orchestral score of

Anton Rubinstein's Piano

Concerto

n° 2.


Anton Rubinstein was one of the most famous virtuosos of his time, travelling all over Europe, where he played his own concertos, which showcased his playing, before devoting himself to the development of music in Russia and to the direction of the St Petersburg Conservatory. After two early attempts, and a first Concerto composed in 1850, Rubinstein composed the following year his Second Concerto, in F major, which shows a real mastery of the balance between orchestra and piano. The work, lasting about 40 minutes, was published
























































in 1858 in Germany.
The first movement begins with a vigorous and heroic orchestral introduction, then the piano takes the floor with a more melancholic second theme; after various developments, the piano begins a cadenza in fugal form, before a coda taking up the various themes. The second movement seems to be a large improvisation, expressive and intense, with notably a long horn solo. The last movement takes the form of a popular dance, before a reprise of the main themes and a
very virtuoso ending.
The manuscript of this orchestral score is in black ink on 18-line paper; it contains scrapings, corrections and annotations in pencil; it served as a conductor. The title page bears the dedication "To his friend Charles Lewy". The orchestra includes (the names of the instruments are in Italian): flutes, oboes, clarinets, bassoons, trumpets, chromatic horns, timpani, violins I and II, vi
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

RUBINSTEIN Anton (1829-1894). MANUSCRIT MUSICAL... - Lot 1194 - Ader

Lot 1194
Aller au lot
Estimation :
10000 - 12000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 11 700EUR
RUBINSTEIN Anton (1829-1894). MANUSCRIT MUSICAL... - Lot 1194 - Ader
RUBINSTEIN Anton (1829-1894).
MANUSCRIT MUSICAL autographe signé « Ant. Rubinstein », 2ème Concerto pour piano et orchestre op. 35 (1851). ; [1]-119 pages in-fol., relié dos toile noire.
Partition d’orchestre du Concerto pour piano n° 2 d’Anton Rubinstein.
Anton Rubinstein fut un des plus célèbres virtuoses de son temps, parcourant l’Europe entière, où il jouait notamment ses propres concertos, qui mettaient en valeur son jeu, avant de se consacrer au développement de la musique en Russie et à la direction du Conservatoire de Saint-Pétersbourg. Après deux essais de jeunesse, et un premier Concerto composé en 1850, Rubinstein compose l’année suivante son second Concerto, en fa majeur, qui montre une réelle maîtrise de l’équilibre entre l’orchestre et le piano. L’œuvre, d’une durée d’environ 40 minutes, sera éditée en 1858 en Allemagne.

Le premier mouvement commence par une vigoureuse et héroïque introduction orchestrale, puis le piano prend la parole avec un second thème plus mélancolique ; après divers développements, le piano entame une cadence de forme fuguée, avant une coda reprenant les divers thèmes. Le second mouvement semble une large improvisation, expressive et intense, avec notamment un long solo de cor. Le dernier mouvement prend la forme d’une danse populaire, avant une reprise des thèmes principaux et une fin très virtuose.

Le manuscrit de cette partition d’orchestre est à l’encre noire sur papier à 18 lignes ; il présente des grattages, des corrections et annotations au crayon ; il a servi de conducteur. La page de titre porte la dédicace « À son ami Charles Lewy ». L’orchestre comprend (les noms des instruments sont en italien) : flûtes, hautbois, clarinettes, bassons, trompettes, cors chromatiques, timbales, violons I et II, altos, violoncelles, contrebasses ; le manuscrit, outre la partie de piano solo, présente également la partie de Piano II, réduction de l’orchestre. Les tempi des trois mouvements seront modifiés dans la p
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue