BAUDELAIRE Charles (1821-1867)

Lot 324
Go to lot
Estimation :
2500 - 3000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 5 460EUR
BAUDELAIRE Charles (1821-1867)
Autograph letter signed to Auguste POULET-MALASSIS, undated [ July 1860]. 4 pages in-8 (205 x 135 mm), in black ink on a double sheet of wove paper.
"My dear friend,
According to Pincebourde's letter which I am sending you, you will see that your gift, in spite of Pincebourde's promise, is reduced to nothing...
The account he gave me, and which I am trying to transcribe, must not be exact, because I have Piogey in it, who has his chine, and I do not understand the gentleman from Le Mans well. - a fortiori I am right.
I have just met Caen who does not want to buy it. He even said it in a style that entertained me a lot. One more. So Pincebourde was to send me two copies, not counting the one from Caen, and you see his letter. You understand, dear friend, that I am incapable of trying to excite your bad temper against your employee; but at last I must get something out of your promise. That Pincebourde's letter is unseemly to me is of little importance.
What is important is that I should be agreeable to the people to whom I have services to ask. Get me out of this if you can. I have a little traffic to offer you, which might be good for you. In exchange for the copy of
Feydeau, full of notes, which I have just stolen from him, promising him a new copy, can you offer me ten ordinary copies? You can set the figure yourself. You can see that I'm beating money by all means. Feydeau's corrections and reflections are horribly numerous and very amusing. I must admit that there are some useful ones and I will transcribe them on my copy.
I am working on the Flowers of Evil. In two or three days you will have your packet, and the last piece, or epilogue, addressed to the city of Paris, will astonish you yourself, if I bring it to a successful conclusion (in snoring tercets).
Yours faithfully.
C.B.
You understand the purpose for which I am sending you the pieces of the trial.
Don't say that I am a bad sleeper and scold me for Pincebourde's benefit.
Summary: According to Pincebourde's admission, in spite of suspicious requests such as those of the gentleman from Le Mans, Piogey, Aubry and Caen, I was to receive two copies. He agreed to give me one. Moreover I know that Caen intends not to take any."
This letter relates to the volume of Paradis artificiels, recently published by Poulet-Malassis. René Pincebourde, the first clerk at Malassis refused to send Baudelaire a copy in a letter that offended the poet's sensibilities. It seems to me that Baudelaire felt a strong animosity towards the latter, for whom Malassis was hardly more tender. "Pincebourde," he wrote, "is for me neither a right nor a left arm, but a wooden arm whose movements are neither spontaneous nor agile enough for me to rely on him." Having founded his own publishing house, he will publish in 1872 a volume entitled Charles
Baudelaire, Souvenirs, correspondence, bibliography.
The characters who appear in this letter are Doctor Gérard
Piogey, "a real doctor of men of letters" close to Baudelaire, and the bookseller Caen, located in the passage des Panoramas, who refuses to take the volume ("one more", Baudelaire underlines). The "gentleman from Le Mans" is either Lanier, who stored the Malassis collection, or a friend of Baudelaire's who had discounted one of his tickets in that city.
In this letter Baudelaire mentions an epilogue dedicated to the city of
Paris, which he had thought of placing at the end of the second edition of the Fleurs du mal given by Malassis in 1861.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

BAUDELAIRE Charles (1821-1867)

Lot 324
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2500 - 3000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 5 460EUR
BAUDELAIRE Charles (1821-1867)
Lettre autographe signée à Auguste POULET-MALASSIS, sans date [ juillet 1860]. 4 pages in-8 (205 x 135 mm), à l'encre noire sur un double feuillet de papier vélin.
«Mon cher ami,
D'après la lettre de Pincebourde que je vous transmets, vous verrez que votre cadeau, malgré la promesse de Pincebourde, se réduit à néant ?
Le compte qu'il m'a fait, et que j'essaie de transcrire, ne doit pas être exact, car j'y porte Piogey qui a son chine, et je ne comprends pas bien le Monsieur du Mans. - à fortiori j'ai raison.
Je viens de rencontrer Caen qui n'en veut pas acheter. Il a même dit cela dans un style qui m'a beaucoup diverti. Un de plus. Pincebourde devait donc m'envoyer deux exemplaires, sans compter celui de Caen, et vous voyez sa lettre. Vous comprenez, cher ami, que je suis incapable de vouloir exciter votre mauvaise humeur contre votre employé ; mais enfin il faut bien que je tire quelque chose de votre promesse. Que la lettre de Pincebourde soit inconvenante pour moi, c'est peu important.
Ce qui est important, c'est que je sois agréable aux gens à qui j'ai des services à demander. Tirez-moi de là si vous pouvez. J'ai un petit trafic à vous proposer, qui vous ira peut-être. En échange de l'exemplaire de
Feydeau, chargé de notes, et que je viens de lui chiper, en lui promettant un exemplaire neuf, pouvez-vous m'offrir dix exemplaires vulgaires ? Vous fixerez vous-même le chiffre. Vous voyez que je bats monnaie par tous les moyens. Les corrections et réflexions de Feydeau sont horriblement nombreuses et très amusantes. Je dois avouez qu'il y en a quelques-unes utiles et je vais les transcrire sur mon exemplaire.
Je travaille aux Fleurs du mal. Dans deux ou trois jours vous aurez votre paquet, et le dernier morceau, ou épilogue, adressé à la ville de Paris, vous étonnera vous-même, si toutefois je le mène à bonne fin (en tercets ronflants).
Bien à vous.
C.B.
Vous comprenez dans quel but je vous transmets les pièces du procès.
N'allez pas dire que je suis un mauvais coucheur et me gronder au profit de Pincebourde.
Résumé : De l'aveu de Pincebourde, malgré des demandes suspectes comme celles du monsieur du Mans, de Piogey, d'Aubry et de Caen, je devais recevoir deux exemplaires. Il consent à m'en donner un. De plus je sais que Caen a l'intention de n'en pas prendre.»
Cette lettre est relative au volume des Paradis artificiels, récemment paru chez Poulet-Malassis. René Pincebourde, le premier commis de Malassis a refusé à Baudelaire l'envoi d'un exemplaire par une lettre qui a offensé la susceptibilité du poète. Il me semble que Baudelaire ait éprouvé une forte animosité à l'égard de ce dernier, pour qui Malassis n'était guère plus tendre. “Pincebourde, écrivit-il, n'est pour moi ni un bras droit, ni un bras gauche, mais un bras de bois dont les mouvements ne sont ni assez spontanés ni assez agiles pour que je puisse compter sur lui.” Ayant fondé sa propre maison, il publiera en 1872 un volume intitulé Charles
Baudelaire, Souvenirs, correspondance, bibliographie.
Les personnages qui apparaissent dans cette lettre sont le docteur Gérard
Piogey, “véritable médecin d'hommes de lettres” proche de Baudelaire, et le libraire Caen, situé passage des Panoramas, qui refuse de prendre le volume (“un de plus”, souligne Baudelaire). Le “monsieur du Mans” est soit Lanier, qui entreposait le fonds Malassis, soit un ami de Baudelaire ayant escompté un de ses billets dans cette ville.
Dans cette lettre Baudelaire fait mention d'un épilogue dédié à la ville de
Paris, qu'il avait songé à placer à la fin de la deuxième édition des Fleurs du mal donnée par Malassis en 1861.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue