BRESDIN Rodolphe (1822-1885).

Lot 6
Go to lot
Estimation :
2000 - 2500 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 2 860EUR
BRESDIN Rodolphe (1822-1885).
4 L.A.S. "Rodolphe Bresdin" or "Bresdin", September-December 1878, to Dr. Paul GACHET in Auvers-sur-Oise; 8 1/2 pages in-8 and 1 page in-12, one envelope.
Rare letters from the engraver to the doctor, a friend of the painters and of Van Gogh.
They concern, among other things, the placement of Bresdin's third daughter Rodolphine as a maid, worker or domestic servant, through the intermediary of Dr. GACHET. Bresdin and his family had just returned from four years of voluntary exile in Canada, where he was even poorer than before.
Paris 22 September. "Mr. Causin tells me that he hopes to see you soon. I will take this opportunity to give him something for you. Please accept it in memory of the past. [...] If you wish to see me when you pass by, I will be informed by Mr. Causin. Health, joy and prosperity"...
Monday 28 [October]. "I was pleasantly surprised to learn from Mr. Causin that he knew you and was a friend of yours; and that you on your side had kept a good memory of me as I had on my side so vivid. I always remember with pleasure the hour we spent together at dinner at your house with the late Bataille. Please be good enough to write me a little note in which you will give me both your news and an idea of the country you live in. [...] I hope to have the pleasure of seeing you on one of your trips to Paris, and perhaps I would go to see you if I knew one day that you would be free, what a good breath of the good wind of yesteryear I would take. My handshake worthy of Homeric times"... November 20. "I am very grateful for your good offices and your efforts to be useful to me, but I find myself in such a family position that I fear I will not be able to take advantage of your goodwill at least for the time being; for my wife and children have such a spirit of stubbornness and misinterpretation characterized by unbearable pride that can only be matched by their crass ignorance and unwillingness to listen to anything that might be truly beneficial to them. [...] The third girl had just left her boss for the purse; that was fine on its own, but she went back to his house at forty cents a day; and there is a commitment, not definitive, however, to leave her there for a year; he wanted a written document, but I did not give it; however, the mother, for the forty cents a day, will never want to let her go without some kind of compensation. Now you have not told me any of the conditions either for going to this lady of your acquaintance or for Poland. If, therefore, my dear friend, you were good enough to inform me of the conditions, stipulations and advantages which might result for the child or for us (or rather for her mother), for I do not want to profit in any way from the children [......], tell me the exact conditions, either for wages, commitments, duties to be fulfilled, maintenance, work clauses and conditions, duties to be fulfilled, in a word everything that concerns the employment to be fulfilled by the child, worker or servant or simple company, the way in which the wages would be paid; whether she would be maintained or not, whether the wages would be paid to her or sent to her parents, the figure of the wages. For how long, for I would not be angry if she escaped the influence of her mother and sisters for as long as possible, and if for Poland the thing were possible I would be delighted - she has already been to Canada, a country where the climate and habits are more or less the same, and she would be delighted with the thing... December 2nd. "I was afraid to make you angry by asking you too much about what you were proposing, I am afraid you would indeed be angry, which would make me all the more sorry as it was not at all in my mind, far from it. But if it was, forgive me, and see in this only the natural solicitude of a father when he has to part with his children, and send them so far away. So please put aside all resentment and answer me this [...] I did not believe that my little one would want to leave so easily and on the contrary she would be delighted, preferring it to the purse. So I would say to you that for the butterfly lady, whom you told me about, and for the flowers, none of them care to go for the moment. But for Poland, on the contrary, the 14 ½ year old girl would be delighted and only speaks of her departure if there is still time, and begs me to write to you for this place [...] The little one having spent 4 years in Canada and having already been placed in similar conditions of climate and other things she is not at all surprised and finds herself in the situation required."
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

BRESDIN Rodolphe (1822-1885).

Lot 6
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2000 - 2500 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 2 860EUR
BRESDIN Rodolphe (1822-1885).
4 L.A.S. «Rodolphe Bresdin» ou «Bresdin», septembre-décembre 1878, au docteur Paul GACHET à Auvers-sur-Oise; 8 pages et demie in-8 et 1 page in-12, une enveloppe.
Rares lettres du graveur au médecin ami des peintres et de Van Gogh.
Elles concernent notamment le placement de la troisième fille de Bresdin, Rodolphine, comme servante, ouvrière ou domestique par l'entremise du docteur Gachet. Bresdin et sa famille viennent alors de rentrer de quatre années d'exil volontaire au Canada, où il fut encore plus pauvre qu'auparavant.
Paris 22 septembre. «Monsieur Causin m'a dit qu'il espère vous voir pro­chainement. Je saisirai cette occasion pour lui remettre quelque chose pour vous. En vous priant de l'accepter en souvenir du temps passé. [...] Si à votre passage vous désirez me voir, je le saurai par M Causin. Santé joie et prospérité»...
Lundi 28 [octobre]. «J'ai été surpris bien agréablement en apprenant par Monsieur Causin qu'il vous connaissait et était de vos amis; et que vous aviez de votre côté gardé un bon souvenir de moi comme je l'avais de mon côté si vivace. Me rappelant toujours avec plaisir l'heure que nous avons passée ensemble à dîner chez vous avec le regretté Bataille. Soyez donc assez bon je vous prie pour m'écrire un petit mot dans lequel vous me donnerez et de vos nouvelles et une idée du pays que vous habitez. [...] J'espère avoir le plaisir de vous voir dans un de vos voyages à Paris, et peut-être que j'irai vous voir si je savais un jour où vous seriez libre, quelle bonne bouffée du bon vent d'autrefois je respirerais. Ma poignée de main digne des temps homériques».. 20 novembre. «Je vous suis bien reconnaissant de vos bons offices et des efforts que vous faites pour m'être utile mais je me trouve dans une position de famille telle que je crains bien de ne pas pouvoir profiter de votre bonne volonté au moins pour le moment; car ma femme et mes enfants ont un tel esprit d'entêtement et mauvaise interprétation caractérisée par un orgueil insupportable qui ne peuvent être égalés que par leur ignorance crasse et leur mauvaise volonté à écouter tout ce qui pourrait leur être vraiment profitable. [...] La 3ème venait justement de quitter son patron pour le porte monnaie; cela allait tout seul mais elle est rentrée chez lui à quarante sous par jours; et il y a un engagement, non définitif toutefois, de l'y laisser un an, il voulait un écrit mais je ne l'ai pas donné, toutefois la mère pour les quarante sous par jour ne voudra jamais la laisser partir sans une compensation quelconque. Or vous ne me faites part d'aucune des conditions ni pour aller chez cette dame de votre connaissance ni pour la Pologne. Si donc mon cher ami vous étiez assez bon pour me mettre au courant des conditions, stipulations et avantages qui pourraient résulter pour l'enfant ou pour nous (ou plutôt pour sa mère) car pour moi je ne veux en aucune sorte profiter en quoi que ce soit des enfants [...], me dire dans quelles conditions exactes, soit pour les gages, engagements, devoirs à remplir, entretien, travail clauses et conditions, devoirs à remplir, en un mot tout ce qui regarde l'emploi à remplir, par l'enfant, ouvrière ou domestique ou simple compagnie, la manière dont les gages seraient payés; si elle serait entretenue ou non, si les gages lui seraient payés à elle ou envoyés à ses parents, chiffre des gages. Pour combien de temps, car je ne serais pas fâché qu'elle échappa le plus longtemps possible à l'influence de sa mère et de ses soeurs et si pour la Pologne la chose était possible j'en serais enchanté elle a déjà été au Canada, pays où le climat et les habitudes sont à peu près identiques, et elle serait enchantée de la chose»... 2 décembre. «J'avais peur de vous fâcher en vous demandant trop de renseignements sur ce que vous me proposiez, je crains bien que vous ne soyez en effet fâché, ce qui me ferait d'autant plus de peine que ce n'était pas du tout dans ma pensée, loin de là. Mais si la chose était, pardonne- moi et ne voyez dans ceci que la sollicitude bien naturelle dans un père lorsqu'il s'agit de se séparer de ses enfants, et les envoyer si loin. Mettez donc je vous prie de côté toute rancune et veuillez me répondre à celle-ci [...] Je ne croyais pas que ma petite voudrait partir aussi facilement et au contraire elle en serait enchantée préférant cela au porte monnaie. Je vous dirais donc que pour la dame aux papillons, dont vous m'avez parlé, et aux fleurs, aucune ne se soucie d'y aller pour le moment. Mais pour la Pologne au contraire la petite de 14 ans ½ serait enchantée et ne parle plus que de son départ s'il est encore temps, et me supplie de vous écrire pour cette place [...] La petite ayant passé 4 ans au Canada et ayant déjà été placée dans de pareils conditions de climat et autres elle ne s'en étonne pas du tout et se trouve dans la situation exigée.»
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue