BAUDELAIRE Charles (1821-1867)

Lot 318
Go to lot
Estimation :
3000 - 4000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 5 200EUR
BAUDELAIRE Charles (1821-1867)
Autograph letter signed to George SAND, "August 19, 1855", 1 p.
autograph in brown ink on 1 f. double in-8 of ivory wove paper. Slight traces of folding.
Beautiful letter addressed to George Sand, concerning the poet's mistress
Marie Daubrun.
"Madame, I received your excellent letter on the 17th. I was therefore not mistaken in invoking your kindness. I wrote immediately to
Miss Daubrun to inform me of what I had done without consulting her, and so that she would know to whom to address her thanks in the event that these gentlemen, thanks to you, should renew contact with her directly. As for me, it is presumed that they will not call me back, because of the rather abrupt and strange manner in which they broke off. If you have any news, happy or unpleasant, be good enough, Madam, to write two words. Please accept with my thanks the assurance of my most respectful sentiments." Ch. Baudelaire. 27, Rue de Seine.
This is one of only two known letters from Baudelaire to George Sand, both relating to a service the poet requested for his mistress
Marie Daubrun, with whom he was then having a tumultuous affair. This ravishing actress "with golden hair" inspired him to write several poems in Les Fleurs du mal, notably L'irréparable. She was then in trouble following a lawsuit with her former director. She had previously performed two plays by George Sand (Claudie and François le Champi). When she was approached to play in the drama Maître Favilla, which was to be staged at the Odéon, she asked Baudelaire for a very slight increase in her fee. He was brutally refused. On August 14, he wrote a long and very deferential letter to the author of the play, asking her to intercede on the artist's behalf. George Sand replied favourably on the 17th, prompting the present reply of thanks and discreet renewal of his request.
This cynically courteous letter is obviously dictated by his desire to please his muse, and not out of respect for George Sand, whom he judged to be stupid, heavy and talkative "I cannot think of this stupid creature without a shudder of horror" ...
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

BAUDELAIRE Charles (1821-1867)

Lot 318
Aller au lot
Estimation :
3000 - 4000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 5 200EUR
BAUDELAIRE Charles (1821-1867)
Lettre autographe signée à George SAND, «19 août 1855»,1 p.
autographe à l'encre brune sur 1 f. double in-8 de papier vélin ivoire. Légères traces de pliure.
Belle lettre adressée à George Sand, relative à la maîtresse du poète
Marie Daubrun.
«Madame, J'ai reçu votre excellente lettre le 17. Je ne m'étais donc pas trompé en invoquant votre obligeance. J'ai écrit immédiatement à
Mlle Daubrun pour m'instruire de ce que j'avais fait sans la consulter,et afi n qu'elle sût à qui adresser ses remerciements dans le cas où ces messieurs, grâce à vous, renoueraient directement avec elle. Quant à moi, il est présumable qu'ils ne me rappelleront pas, à cause de la manière un peu brusque et bizarre dont ils ont rompu. Si vous avez quelque nouvelle, heureuse ou désagréable, soyez assez bonne, Madame, pour écrire deux mots. Veuillez agréer avec mes remerciements l'assurance de mes sentiments les plus respectueux.» Ch. Baudelaire. 27, Rue de Seine.
Cette lettre est l'une des deux seules connues de Baudelaire à George Sand, toutes deux relatives à un service que le poète demanda pour sa maîtresse
Marie Daubrun, avec qui il entretenait alors une liaison tumultueuse. Cette ravissante comédienne «aux cheveux d'or» lui inspira plusieurs poèmes des Fleurs du mal, notamment L'irréparable. Elle était alors en diffi culté à la suite d'un procès avec son ancien directeur. Elle avait auparavant interprété deux pièces de George Sand (Claudie et François le Champi). Pressentie pour jouer dans le drame Maître Favilla, qui allait être monté à l'Odéon, elle sollicita, par l'entremise de Baudelaire, une très légère augmentation de son cachet. Celui-ci essuya un refus brutal. Le 14 août, il écrit une longue lettre très déférente à l'auteur de la pièce, la priant d'intercéder en faveur de l'artiste. George Sand lui répondit favorablement le 17, suscitant la présente réponse de remerciement et de discret renouvellement de sa demande.
Cette lettre d'une courtoisie cynique est évidemment dictée par son désir d'être agréable à sa muse, et non par respect pour George Sand qu'il jugeait bête, lourde et bavarde «je ne puis penser à cette stupide créature sans un frémissement d'horreur» ...
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue