ARAGON Louis (1897-1982)

Lot 311
Got to lot
Estimation :
600 - 800 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 520EUR
ARAGON Louis (1897-1982)
Autograph letter signed "A" to Louis EMIÉ, Nice, Good Friday [April 1942]; 1 page in-4 in ink.
Aragon writes to Louis Emié, French writer and poet (1900-1967). He is looking forward to the Fontaine review in order to read the sonnets Emié has just written. He ends his letter with a quick summary of the new novel he has started, Aurélien. Aragon gives him his opinion on the "sonnet" as a poetic form. He praises du Bellay, Chrétien de Troyes "who is sometimes as great as... should we say Rimbaud? Aragon is in Nice,
He misses Paris. He tells her about the novel he is writing: "It's called 'Aurélien' so far, and maybe not forever. An epigraph from
Chrétien de Troyes: Amants ne savent ce qu'ils font will perhaps tell you more about the book than I would. This is related by the characters to
Beaux Quartiers (Edmond Barbentane) and Les Cloches [de Bâle] (Diane de Nettancourt), and even Les Voyageurs [de l'Impériale] (Blaise d'Ambérieux).
This is not a political novel. It is a love story.
The other post-war period, with the intellectual background of the time, and the disillusionment of the veterans of Dadaism. "How poor it is when you summarize. (...)». Strangely, he evokes Antonio Machado, as if he were still alive, whereas the latter tragically died in exile at
Collioure in February 1939.
This letter certainly dates from April 1942, since it was at that time that Aragon began writing Aurelian. Aragon and Elsa Triolet stayed in Nice from December 31, 1940 until their arrest on June 25 while trying to return to Paris and the Resistance writers. The police released them and they returned to Nice on November 16, 1941, where they remained until November 1942. In April 1941, Le Crève-Coeur was published, which Aragon mentions in this letter, and which marked his return to poetry.
Founded in 1938, the review Fontaine took its definitive name in the spring of 1939.
It appeared monthly from Algiers from 1941 until December 1944, then from Paris until 1947. This review "of the resistance in the light" brought together committed poets such as Aragon, Artaud, Cocteau, Max
Jacob, Ponge, Soupault and Jouve.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

ARAGON Louis (1897-1982)

Lot 311
Aller au lot
Estimation :
600 - 800 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 520EUR
ARAGON Louis (1897-1982)
Lettre autographe signée «A» à Louis EMIÉ, Nice, le Vendredi Saint [avril 1942] ; 1 page in-4 à l'encre.
Aragon écrit à Louis Emié, écrivain et poète français (1900-1967). Il attend avec impatience la revue Fontaine pour pouvoir lire les sonnets que vient d'écrire Emié. Il termine sa lettre par un résumé rapide du nouveau roman qu'il a commencé, Aurélien. Aragon lui donne son opinion sur le «sonnet» comme forme poétique. Il vante du Bellay, Chrétien de Troyes «qui est parfois grand comme... faut-il dire Rimbaud ?». Aragon est à Nice,
Paris lui manque. Il lui parle enfi n du roman qu'il écrit : «Cela s'appelle «Aurélien» jusqu'ici, et peut-être pas pour toujours. Une épigraphe de
Chrétien de Troyes : Amants ne savent ce qu'ils font vous dira peut-être plus du livre que je ne le ferais. Cela se rattache par les personnages aux
Beaux Quartiers (Edmond Barbentane) et aux Cloches [de Bâle] (Diane de Nettancourt), et même aux Voyageurs [de l'Impériale] (Blaise d'Ambérieux).
Ce n'est pas un roman politique. C'est une histoire d'amour.
L'autre après-guerre, avec le fond intellectuel d'alors, et la désillusion des Anciens Combattants le dadaïsme. «Que c'est pauvre quand on résume. (...)». Étrangement, il évoque Antonio Machado, comme s'il était encore vivant alors que ce dernier mourut tragiquement en exil à
Collioure en février 1939.
Cette lettre date certainement d'avril 1942 puisque c'est à cette époque qu'Aragon commence la rédaction d'Aurélien. Aragon et Elsa Triolet séjournèrent à Nice du 31 décembre 1940 jusqu'à leur arrestation le 25 juin alors qu'ils tentaient de regagner Paris et les écrivains résistants. La police les relâche et ils retournent à Nice le 16 novembre 1941 où ils resteront jusqu'en novembre 1942. En avril 41 paraît Le Crève-Coeur, qu'Aragon mentionne dans cette lettre, et qui marque son retour vers la poésie.
Fondée en 1938, la revue Fontaine prit son nom défi nitif au printemps 1939.
Elle parut mensuellement d'Alger dès 1941 jusqu'en décembre 1944 puis de Paris jusqu'en 1947. Cette revue «de la résistance en pleine lumière» regroupait des poètes engagés tels qu'Aragon, Artaud, Cocteau, Max
Jacob, Ponge, Soupault ou encore Jouve.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue